Premier announces new legislative officer appointments

June 14th, 2013

FREDERICTON (GNB) – Three appointments of individuals to lead the legislative offices of the official languages commissioner, the ombud and the child and youth advocate were announced today in the legislative assembly by Premier David Alward.

"After an extensive selection process, I am pleased to announce the appointment of these three experienced individuals," said Alward. "Katherine d'Entremont will become the new official languages commissioner; Charles Murray will be appointed to the position of ombud; and Norman Bossé will take up the role as the child and youth advocate. I am confident that their experience and education will help them to carry out their respective duties effectively."

Katherine d'Entremont
D'Entremont holds a master's degree in public administration and is a highly qualified individual with more than 30 years of public service in various roles. She is currently the administrator of the Table of Provincial and Territorial Ministers Responsible for Local Government.

Charles Murray
Murray holds a bachelor of laws from the Dalhousie Law School and has had extensive experience in the public service, the federal government and in law. He is currently the executive director of the New Brunswick Electoral Boundaries and Representation Commission.

Norman Bossé
Bossé has had an extensive legal career with nearly 30 years as a practising lawyer and is a Queen’s counsel. He is currently a partner with McInnes Cooper.

"We are pleased as a government that we created a new process to be more fair and transparent," said Alward. "This is crucial as we continue to select experienced individuals in key roles who will help to rebuild our province."

Candidates were chosen through a new process involving a selection committee composed of the clerk of the executive council; the clerk of the legislative assembly; a provincial court judge; and a member of the university community. The committee developed a roster of qualified candidates after three well-publicized expressions of interest. The appointments are for seven years.